top of page

Iyengar Certification

A Certified Iyengar Yoga Teacher is a highly sought after Certification Mark. The applicant has gone through multiple years of study and practice and passed an assessment of skills. This Mark shows the yoga community that the teacher is committed to maintaining the high standards of Iyengar Yoga and capable of teaching to those standards.


Certification Levels in Teacher training: 
* Introductory II
* Intermediate Junior I, II and III
* Intermediate Senior I, II and III
* Advanced Junior I, II and III
* Advanced Senior I, II and III

To become an Iyengar Teacher you must first:​

  • have a steady practice for at least 3 years

  • Pass an 2-3 year Iyengar Teacher training program or approved equivalent mentor-ship

  • have a mentor Iyengar Teacher

  • have a recommending Iyengar Teacher

The assessment is in 4 parts in front of Intermediate Junior III Teachers, it consists of

  • Pranayama

  • Written philosophy and sequencing

  • 2 hr Practice

  • 40 minute Teaching 


Ashley CIYT Certification
bottom of page